film/documentary

film/documentary

Hello everyone. I dont know if any of you really know much about me or what I am doing but, I am currently a Film Student in Los Angeles, I am seriously thinking about creating a movie about an individual with P.K.U. I dont yet know if I should make a documentary which would follow several peroples lives, or make it a holywood type film with a story. I would apreciate any advice on the matter. Or any personal stories, or ideas or experiances with P.K.U.

I think that the general public has no idea whatsoever what PKU is, or how it effects an individuals life, other then diet restrictions. i think becuase of P.K.U an individual with the dissorder has a very unique experiance and perspective on life and it is a perspective which should be shared with the public.

I vote for a...

You know many people love films based on a true stories so I guess inthis case it`d be the best to choose the most intresting one which will show what PKU is and that people with PKU are the same as others and that thanks to a good screening, thx to to life long diet they can be in a good shape.
      Hi Phil;

Great idea, but as you state yourself it's difficult to grasp what would attract people to see a movie about someone with PKU. I think you have to look at the aspects that make us different from other people and especially what makes us different from other people with inherited disorders (treated or not). I find it hard to say in what aspect we differ from other (non PKU) people. Apart from the fact that we have a diet to keep us on the right track, I do not see that many differences. We have the same problems that non-PKU's have like accepting yourself for who you are, succeeding in social life, succeeding in professional life, lifepath planning, etc.

Greets;
      Paul van Berkel
      Eindhoven, The Netherlands
      ESPKU Boardmember / Project manager
      paul.van.berkel@espku.org
      espku.org